Good News, Lifestyle

GOODNEWS ||What Godliness Is Not

Hello beauties,

Welcome to a brand new week and happy democracy day to all my fellow Nigerian. How are you spending this day,  well for me, it’s my wash day because I only have the luxury of washing my clothes one a month I’m just going to make today that day. 

As much as it seem like its a rest Monday, I hope you started the day with goals and aspirations? Don’t let this week just pass you by, do something unique towards the achievement of your overall goals.

So today conversation is about demystifing the concept of godliness. 

Although weโ€™ve all heard the word, few of us can give a quick and easy definition for godliness. We’ve read little about it and we might conclude that itโ€™s something we’ll experience and understand only as we go much further down the road of Christian living.

So this is what godliness is;

1. Godliness involves possessing the right attitude of heart towards God, coupled with the right actions springing from it. Being a Christian involves more than just professing Christ with our lips instead it involves living a holy life and acceptable life before Christ.

2. Godliness is the transformation produced in us by the power of the Holy Spirit. For you to be regarded as godly you must possess the reverential fear of God.

3. Godliness is the passion for purity and righteousness. It is the inner morality of a heart totally given to doing God’s will. Being godly is a conscious effort of a believer. The development of spiritual fitness is not depending on what God can do for you but what you are willing to do with what has done for you in Christ Jesus and the resources he has made available through the Holy spirit. Godliness inspires a sense of security, it keeps us from the snare of the devil and death. As believers, our primary aim should be to live a GODLY life.

When Paul wants to explain the essence of the Christian life into one brief paragraph, he focuses on godliness. He tells us that Godโ€™s grace “teaches us to say ‘No’ to ungodliness and worldly passions and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives” as we await the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ (Titus 2:11-13).

What Godliness is not;

  1. Godliness is not earthly wisdom because godliness is about truth and not earthly knowledge.
  • Godliness is not about wealth. God can bless you with riches, you pay your tithe and feed the poor but you are still not godly.We must come to an understanding that we don’t need any special talent or equipment to be godly. God has given to each one of us “everything we need for life and godliness” (2 Peter 1:3). The most ordinary Christian has all that he needs, and the most talented Christian must use those same means in the practice of godliness.

    P.S: I just had to show off myself even if it has nothing to do with the post plus I was in so much hurry to take a photo that I didn’t tuck in my top properly so it’s like I have a big tummy.  ๐Ÿ˜” 

    Till my next post, Catch me on Instagram and on twitter

    Follow my blog with Bloglovin

    ***Hugs and Kisses***

    KOZ

    6 thoughts on “GOODNEWS ||What Godliness Is Not”

    1. This is so encouraging and I totally agree with everything you said. Godliness being a Christian is not just professing with your mouth, but rather your actions should match. My faith is very important to me and I love the as a Christian I’m on a journey of spiritual growth. God is good.

      Liked by 1 person

    What do you think?

    